Top Menu

Pan Pacs 2014

The 2014 Pan Pacific Swimming Championships will begin tomorrow at the new Gold Coast Aquatic Centre in Queensland Australia.  The Championships will be the maiden event for the newly renovated outdoor complex which has been upgraded in anticipation of the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

The complex will boast a new ten (10) lane 50m competition pool, an elevated spectator concourse/viewing terrace, change rooms, gym and toilet facilities for both male and female competitors, event facilities and meeting rooms. This will be in addition to the refurbishment of the existing eight (8) lane 50m pool and dive and water polo pools.

The results for the Pan Pacs along with the results for many other swim meets is available at www.LiveSwimmingResults.com.

The Pan Pacific Swimming Championships is held under the oversight of the Pan Pacific Swimming Association. The Association was established in the mid-1980s and is made up of the four founding swimming federations – Swimming Australia, Swimming Canada, the Japan Amateur Swimming Federation and USA Swimming.

These charter nations developed the concept of a biennial swimming competition to provide their national teams with first class international competition between the two major international swimming competitions – the Olympic Games and the FINA World Championships.

As FINA modified its calendar in the 2001-2004 period to include two World Championships in the quadrennium (the odd years), the Pan Pacific Swimming Championships also adjusted and has been held since 2002 in the second year after the summer Olympic Games (2002, 2006, 2010, etc).

The first Pan Pacific Swimming Championships was hosted by Japan in Tokyo in 1985. Since then, the competition site rotated between Japan and the other charter nations. The host nation has taken responsibility for organizing all aspects of the Championships including issuing all invitations to other national swimming federations.

Host Cities

1985 Tokyo, JAPAN
1987 Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
1989 Tokyo, JAPAN
1991 Edmonton, CANADA
1993 Kobe, JAPAN
1995 Atlanta, USA
1997 Fukuoka, JAPAN
1999 Sydney, AUSTRALIA
2002 Yokohama, JAPAN
2006 Victoria, CANADA
2010 California, USA
2014 Gold Coast, AUSTRALIA

, , ,

Comments are closed.

© 2018 The Swimming Expert. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy Policy
Solutions Indata